Scientific awards of the DGZ

The German Society for Cell Biology grants several awards for outstanding achievements in the field of cell biology.
In this, the Society is sponsored by Binder GmbH, Carl Zeiss, European Journal of Cell Biology (Elsevier-Verlag), and Springer-Verlag.


The Carl Zeiss Lecture was instituted in 1990 by Carl Zeiss Microscopy GmbH to enhance the Society’s chances of gaining scientists of international renown for its annual meeting. At the annual meeting in 1993 in Münster, the company Carl Zeiss and the Society have agreed to change the Carl Zeiss Lecture into an award. The Carl Zeiss Lecture and awarding ceremony are held at the opening session of the annual meeting. The Society hereby awards internationally outstanding achievements in the field of light and electron microscopy.

Laureates to the Carl Zeiss Lecture will be selected by a committee made up of the Society’s President, a member of the Advisory Board, and a representative of Carl Zeiss Microscopy GmbH (at present Dr Richard Ankerhold). Nominations may be filed by any member of the Society at the secretary’s office.

Past laureates


The prize is donated by the Binder company, Tuttlingen, and awarded by the German Society for Cell Biology. It includes a prize money of EUR 4,000 and was first announced in 1998. The prize is awarded for outstanding work in the field of cell biology concerning or making use of cell culture.
Candidates may apply personally for the prize. A membership with the Society is not a prerequisite but highly desired. Applications must be filed with the paper and a curriculum vitae to the secretary’s office.
The laureate will be selected by an independent jury of experts within the Society.

The prize will be awarded in the context of the Society’s annual meeting.

Interested candidates are summoned for application here.

Past laureates


The awarding committee in collaboration with the German Society of Cell Biology will give an award for “outstanding achievements in the field of endothelium cell biology” to scientists whose graduation to PhD should be not more than five years past (periods of childcare may be taken into account). The research awarded should have been conducted in a laboratory in Europe or Israel; exceptionally, it may have been contucted in outher countries, if the nominee is citizen of a European country or Israel. The Werner Risau Award will be bestowed in recognition of a scientific paper published or in print.

It consists of a personal diploma and a financial grant of EUR 4,000.

Further information can be found at

Past laureates


The award is endowed by the Nikon GmbH and conferred to Ph.D. students or young postdocs by the DGZ. The award includes prize money of 1,500 €. Candidates are invited to apply for the prize by themselves or may be suggested by others. DGZ membership is required. Applications will be reviewed by an independent jury of the DGZ. The award ceremony takes place at the annual international DGZ meeting.

Past laureates


In 2004 the German Society for Cell Biology first awarded a research prize donated by the Society itself. The award is named after Mr Walther Flemming, a pioneer of cell biological research, who gave a detailed report of the process of cell division, naming it mitosis. Hence, Walther Flemming is one of the prominent founding fathers of cell biological research and a worthy namesake for this distinguished award of the Society. There is hardly a week without a handsome mitosis spindle flashing from the cover of a cell biological journal, while tthe origin of mitosis research is unknown to most readers. By awarding this prize, the Society commemorates the initiator.
The Prize will be awarded for outstanding scientific achievements from all areas of cell biological research to young scientists up to 38 years of age. Both nominations and own applications will be accepted.

Moreover, young scientists with an outstanding dissertation are expressly asked to apply.
The papers will be assessed by an independent commission of experts within the Society. The prize will be awarded in the context of the Society’s annual meeting. It consists of a medal and a prize money of EUR 2,000, partial sponsored by Elsevier Verlag’s European Journal of Cell Biology.

Applications/nominations must be tendered to the Society’s secretary’s office, including the following documents in six copies:

curriculum vitae
list of publications
papers to be assessed, covering a coherent area of research
a summary indicating the importance of the achievement

Interested candidates are summoned for application here.

Past laureates