Cell News | Issue 04, 2015 - page 14

Cell News 4/2015
The Executive Board and three members of the Advisory Board, two auditors and three members of the prize jury shall be elected
for the term of office 2016 – 2018.
The candidates are:
Executive Board:
Carien Niessen (Köln) as President, Oliver Gruß (Bonn) as Vice President, Thomas M. Magin (Leipzig) as Chief
Executive Officer, Karin Schumacher (Heidelberg) as Vice Chief Executive Officer.
Advisory Board:
Thomas Dresselhaus (Regensburg), Volker Gerke (Münster), Simone Reber (Berlin)
Marie-Christine Dabauvalle (Würzburg), Hans-Georg Mannherz (Bochum)
Prize Jury:
Robert Grosse (Marburg), Zoya Ignatova (Hamburg), Walter Witke (Bonn)
The candidates are elected among the active members by secret postal vote.
The documents (information letter, ballot paper,
2 envelopes) will be sent to the DGZ members by mail.
If you have any question, please contact the DGZ office by e-mail:
Please, vote and send your ballot paper to the DGZ office by
February 15, 2016
Prof. Dr. Carien Niessen
as President
Date of birth: 27.07.1966
Department of Dermatology, CECAD, Center for Molecular Medicine Cologne, University of Cologne
Study of Biology at Utrecht University, the Netherlands until 1991. 1991-1996: PhD thesis work in the laboratory
of Prof. Dr. Arnoud Sonnenberg at the Netherlands Cancer Institute in Amsterdam, the Netherlands on intracellular and extracellu-
lar interactions of the integrin
4. 1997-2001: Netherlands Cancer Society (KWF) fellow and postdoctoral fellow in the labora-
tory of Prof. Dr. Barry Gumbiner at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, USA. 2002-2008: Independent group leader
Center for Molecular Medicine Cologne, University of Cologne, Polarity and adhesion in epithelial morphogenesis and homeostasis.
Since 2008: Professor in molecular Dermato-oncology the Department of Dermatology and associated with CECAD. Regulation of
the cyto-architecture in epidermal morphogenesis, homeostasis and pathogenesis.
Research focus:
Intercellular junctions and polarity signaling in stratifying epithelia using mouse models. Epidermal differentiation and cell fate
regulation through regulation of oriented cell division. Interactions between the cyto-architecture and metabolic insulin/IGF sig-
naling in epithelia.
Further reading:
Niessen C.M., Leckband, D. and Yap, A. S. (2011) Tissue organization by cadherin adhesion molecules: dynamic molecular and
cellular mechanisms of morphogenetic regulation. Physiol. Reviews 91:691-731
Niessen M.T., Iden S. and Niessen C.M. (2012)
The in vivo function of mammalian cell and tissue polarity regulators- how to shape and maintain the epidermal barrier. J. Cell
Science 125: 3501-3510
Guenschmann, C., Stachelscheid H., Akyüz M.D, Schmitz A., Missero, C., Bruning, J.C. and Niessen C.M.
(2013) IGF-1 controls epidermal morphogenesis via regulation of FoxO-mediated p63 inhibition. Developmental Cell, 26: 176-87
Vorhagen S. and Niessen C.M. (2014) Mammalian aPKC/Par polarity complex mediated regulation of epithelial division orientation
and cell fate. Exp. Cell Research 328:296-302
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Oliver Gruß
as Vice President
Date of birth: 13.10.1967
Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
study of biochemistry in Regensburg 1989-1994. PhD thesis work at the ZMBH in Heidelberg 1994-1998 on
translocation of proteins across the ER membrane with Prof. Dr. Bernhard Dobberstein. Postdoctoral training at EMBL with Prof. Dr.
Iain Mattaj: work on the function of the Ran GTPase in spindle formation. 2003: independent group leader at the ZMBH working
on nuclear proteins in open mitosis. 2010-2015: Professor for molecular biology of cell division at the ZMBH. Since 2015: Professor
and head of Cell Division Unit at the Institute of Genetics, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
DGZ ELECTION 2016 – 2018
DGZ Election 2016 – 2018
1...,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13 15,16,17,18,19,20
Powered by FlippingBook